Law and Order

Overview

Law and Order


The Overall crime figures in the first half of 2019 were the lowest since 1977, when half-year crime statistics were first kept. However, the violent acts of rioters during processions and demonstrations from June 2019 to early 2020 had led to deteriorations in law and order in the second half of 2019.



Crime Situation in 2019


2. In 2019, the overall crime rate1 (789 cases per 100 000 population) and violent crime rate1 (129 cases per 100 000 population) increased by 8.4% as compared with 2018. The overall crime detection rate was 37.1%.


3. The law and order situation remained stable in the first half of 2019 with a further drop of 4.7% in overall crime figures when compared with the same period of 2018, hitting a new record low since half yearly figures were maintained in 1977. However, the trend reversed in the second half of 2019, with the months-long social unrest stemmed from protests against the “Fugitive Offenders and Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Legislation (Amendment) Bill 2019” (“anti-extradition amendment bill”) since June. Not only did the 4.7% decrease for the first half of the year being offset, an overall 9.2% yearly increase in crime was subsequently recorded at the end of the year.


4. The increase in crime reports was attributable to two factors, firstly, there had been an increase in crime reports directly related to the radical protests stemmed from the “anti-extradition amendment bill” related incident (including offences against public order, arson, criminal damage, possession of unlawful instrument, possession of offensive weapons, assault on police and resisting arrest, etc.). Secondly, there had been a surge in crimes which were indirectly affected as criminals had taken advantage of the thinning out of the Police’s crime prevention work and resources due to related public order events. These categories of crimes include robbery, burglary, snatching, theft from vehicle and taking conveyance without authority.


5. Police will exert all efforts in ensuring the safety and order of the Hong Kong society.


1The overall crime rate and the violent crime rate are compiled with the latest population figures released by the Census and Statistics Department.

治安


概覽

治安



2019年上半年的整體罪案數字是自1977年有半年統計數字以來最低。然而,由2019年六月起至2020年初的連串示威活動,暴力示威者的行為令香港的治安情況在2019下半年轉差。



2019年罪案情況


2. 2019年的整體罪案率1 (每10萬名人口為789宗)和暴力罪案率1 (每10萬名人口為129宗)和2018年相比上升8.4%。整體破案率為37.1%。


3. 2019年上半年香港治安情況維持平穩,整體罪案數字較2018年同期下跌4.7%,是自1977年有半年統計以來的最低。然而,2019年下半年的罪案形勢出現急遽變化,自六月以來因《2019年逃犯及刑事事宜相互法律協助法例(修訂)條例草案》(「反修例」)所引發的示威,導致持續多月的社會動盪,不單抵銷了上半年所錄得的跌幅,至年底整體罪案數字更錄得9.2%的升幅。


4. 上升較顯著的罪案可以分為兩類。第一類是因「反修例」相關的激進示威直接衍生的罪案,包括妨礙公安罪行、縱火、刑事毀壞、藏有非法工具、藏有攻擊性武器、襲警以及拒捕等;第二類是受到間接影響的罪行類別,由於警方的防罪工作及資源因「反修例」事件而被攤薄,令罪犯有機可乘,這些罪行包括行劫、爆竊、搶掠、車內盜竊、以及未獲授權而取用運輸工具等。


5. 警隊會繼續全力以赴,致力確保香港社會的安全及秩序。


1整體罪案率和暴力罪案率是根據政府統計處提供的最新人口數字計算。