The Outbound Travel Alert (OTA) System aims to help people better understand the risk or threat to personal safety in travelling to 88 countries/territories that are the more popular travel destinations for Hong Kong residents (HKRs). When there are signs of threat in a place that may affect the personal safety of HKRs, the Security Bureau will assess and consider the need to issue an OTA taking into account factors such as the nature (e.g. whether it is targeted at travellers), level and duration of the threat. Should there be public health reasons, based on the alert level as advised by the Food and Health Bureau, the Security Bureau will issue an OTA on countries/territories seriously affected by infectious diseases to help the public better understand the possible health risks.

OTA Currently in Force

OTA

Countries/Territories

Travel Health Advice from the Department of Health

The World Health Organization (WHO) has declared Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) as a Public Health Emergency of International Concern, and declared on March 11, 2020 that the COVID-19 outbreak can be described as a pandemic. Symptoms of COVID-19 are mainly fever and cough, while some patients presented with shortness of breath and were in serious condition.

Transmission of COVID-19 virus has been increasing in many parts of the world. Large scale outbreaks are occurring in many places.

The Department of Health strongly urges members of the public to avoid all non-essential travel outside Hong Kong.

Travellers should be aware of any compulsory quarantine requirements upon entry to the travel destination.

For Entry Restrictions and Points to Note for Quarantine for Inbound Travellers into Hong Kong, please refer to: https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/inbound-travel.html

For better understanding by the public on the boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements for persons arriving at Hong Kong from different places outside China under the relevant regulations, the Government has categorised the relevant specified places into different groups according to the relevant risk-based boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements: https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/high-risk-places.html

 

For further details, please see:

The World Health Organization (WHO) declared the Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo as a Public Health Emergency of International Concern on July 17, 2019. The public should avoid unnecessary travel to affected areas. During travel, they should observe good personal and environmental hygiene, and avoid contact with feverish or sick patients, blood or body fluids of patients and contaminated items, as well as animals.


For further details, please see:

The Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health reminds the public to observe good personal and environmental hygiene when travelling to places with high incidence or outbreak of measles.

Immunisation against measles is the most effective way to prevent the disease. People who intend to travel to places with high incidence or outbreak of measles are advised to review their vaccination history and past medical history. For those with incomplete vaccination, unknown vaccination history or unknown immunity against measles, they are advised to consult their doctor for advice on measles vaccination.


For details, please see:

Outbreaks of Zika virus infection have been recorded in Africa, the Americas, Asia and the Pacific. For countries and areas with Zika virus transmission, please see the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health webpage.

Travellers should avoid mosquito bites during the trip, and take precautions to prevent sexual transmission of Zika virus during and after the trip. Use of mosquito repellent containing DEET during travel to and returning from affected areas for a period of at least 21 days are advised for all travellers. Pregnant women should not travel to areas with Zika virus transmission.


For further details, please see:

The Department of Health advises travellers in the Middle East to avoid going to farms, barns or markets with camels, avoid contact with sick persons and animals, especially camels, birds or poultry, and avoid unnecessary visit to healthcare facilities.


For further details, please see:

The Travel Health Service website of the Port Health Office of the Department of Health provides the latest disease outbreak alerts at specific destinations.


For details, please visit:

Related Matters

  • Before travelling abroad, Individuals should understand clearly the arrangements of the outbound tour and the coverage of the insurance policy before entering into any contracts with or purchasing any products or services from the service providers or suppliers.
  • Employers and employees are encouraged to come up with prior work arrangements or understanding on the need for the latter to undertake business visits to a place where an OTA is in force. For details please see Guide to Good People Management Practices of the Labour Department.pdf 檔案
  • HKRs who are abroad should pay attention to their personal safety. Those who need assistance may call the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 of the Immigration Department. For HKRs who are Chinese nationals, they may also call the 24-hour consular protection hotline (8610) 12308 of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China or contact the Chinese Embassy/Chinese Consulate-General in their destination. The telephone numbers and addresses of the Chinese Embassies/Chinese Consulates-General overseas can be obtained from the Immigration Department (Tel: (852) 2824 6111) or Website: http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/eng/ziliao/wjgmc/.
  • For health-related risks during outbound travel, please visit the relevant websites of the Department of Health http://www.travelhealth.gov.hk/eindex.html.

设立「外游警示制度」的目的是协助香港居民更容易了解在前往 88个较多港人到访的海外国家/属地 时所可能面对的人身安全风险。当这些国家/属地出现可能影响香港居民人身安全的事故时,保安局会评估风险,当中包括风险的性质(例如是否针对旅客)、程度及持续性,并考虑是否需发出外游警示。若有公共衞生的理由,保安局会按食物及衞生局建议的警戒级别,就受传染病严重影响的国家/属地发出外游警示,协助巿民更容易掌握可能面对的健康风险。

现正生效的外游警示

外游警示

国家/属地

(按下列连结查阅附加资料)

衞生署旅游健康建议

世界卫生组织已将2019冠状病毒病疫情定为「国际关注的突发公共卫生事件」,并于2020年3月11日宣布2019冠状病毒病疫情已构成大流行。 2019冠状病毒病的病征主要为发烧及咳嗽,部分患者呼吸困难,且病情严重。

2019冠状病毒病病毒在全球多个地方传播的情况持续增加,众多地方正出现大规模爆发。

卫生署强烈呼吁市民应避免所有非必要的外游计划。

旅客应留意于入境目的地之相关强制检疫措施。

有关抵港人士的入境限制及检疫须知,请参阅: https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/sim/inbound-travel.html

为了让公众更容易理解有关规例对曾在中国以外的不同地区逗留人士抵港的登机及强制检疫要求,政府已把相关指明地区按风险所实施的登机及强制检疫要求整理为不同组别: https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/sim/high-risk-places.html

 

其他详情请见:

世界卫生组织(世卫)于2019年7月17日将刚果民主共和国爆发的埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病定为「国际关注的突发公共卫生事件」。市民如非必要,应尽量避免到访受影响地区。外游期间,须注重良好个人和环境卫生,并避免接触发烧或不适人士、病人的血液或体液和受污染物品以及动物。


详情请见:

卫生署卫生防护中心呼吁市民,前往麻疹高发病率或出现麻疹爆发的地区,应时刻保持良好的个人及环境卫生。

接种麻疹疫苗为最有效预防麻疹的方法。市民如计划前往麻疹高发病率或出现麻疹爆发的地区,出发前应先检视其疫苗接种纪录及个人病历,就未完成疫苗接种、疫苗接种纪录不明或对麻疹免疫力有疑问的人士,应该就接种麻疹疫苗事宜咨询医生意见。

 


详情请见:

寨卡病毒感染已在非洲,美洲,亚洲和太平洋地区录得爆发。有关寨卡病毒传播的国家和地区,请参考卫生署卫生防护中心网页。

旅客在外游期间应该避免被蚊子叮咬,亦应该在外游期间及回来后采取措施以预防性接触传染寨卡病毒。所有旅客应在受影响地区旅游时及回港后至少二十一天内使用含避蚊胺 (DEET) 成分的昆虫驱避剂 。怀孕妇女不应前往寨卡病毒传播的地区。


详情请见:

卫生署建议到中东的外游人士应避免到农场、农庄或有骆驼的市场,亦应避免接触病人及动物,特别是骆驼、雀鸟或家禽,及尽量避免到访当地的医疗机构。


详情请见:

卫生署港口卫生处的旅游健康服务网提供各地最新的疫症情报:


详情请见:

相关事项

  • 在外游前,消费者应在与服务或产品供应商签订相关合约或选购相关服务或产品前,清楚了解旅行团的出发及旅游保险保障等安排及有关细节。
  • 雇主及雇员应及早协订,一旦在外游警示生效时是否须前往有关地方公干的安排。要了解详情,请参阅劳工处印制的「良好人事管理指引pdf 檔案」。
  • 香港居民在出外公干或旅游时,应注意人身安全。身在外地的香港居民如需协助,可致电入境处24小时求助热线:(852) 1868 。中国藉香港居民亦可致电中华人民共和国外交部24小时领事保护热线(8610)12308或与我国驻当地的使领馆联络,你若想查询我国驻海外使领馆的电话及地址, 可致电入境处(电话:(852) 2824 6111)或浏览网址: http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/mfa_chn/wjb_602314/zwjg_603776/zwsg_603778/yz_603780/
  • 有关外游时个人健康风险资讯,请浏览卫生署网页(http://www.travelhealth.gov.hk/scindex.html)。