Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Processions

The Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Processions was established in December 1995 in accordance with section 44 of the Public Order Ordinance, Cap. 245, Laws of Hong Kong.

Under section 16 of the Public Order Ordinance, a person, society or organisation –

(a) named in a notice given under section 8 or 13A;

(b) to whom a notice of prohibition is given under section 9; or

(c) to whom notice of objection is given under section 14,

who is aggrieved by the decision of the Commissioner of Police to prohibit a public meeting, to object to a public procession or to impose conditions on the holding of a public meeting or public procession may appeal to the Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Processions.

Pursuant to section 44 and 44A, the Board may, after hearing an appeal, confirm, reverse or vary the prohibition, objection or condition appealed against, and the determination of an appeal by the Board shall be final.

Enquiry:      10th Floor, East Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar, Hong Kong

Telephone:      2810 2747

Fax:      2810 7702

E-mail address :

Membership of the Board

Chairman : Mr. Anthony TO Kwai-fung, G.B.S.

Deputy Chairman :

Mr. Christopher CHAN Yiu-chong, B.B.S., J.P.
Ms. May CHUNG Ching-may

Members :

Miss CHAN Hang, M.H., J.P.
Miss Anna May CHAN Mei-lan, M.H., J.P.
Dr Eugene CHAN Kin-keung, S.B.S., J.P.
Miss CHAN Wing-ki
Mr. Andrew FAN Chun-wah, J.P.
Mr. KWOK Wing-keung, B.B.S., M.H., J.P.
Mr. Ambrose LAM San-keung, J.P.
Mr. Johnny LAU Tze-ming
Mr. Augustine WONG Ho-ming, J.P.
Dr Ryan WONG Man-yeung
Miss Vivian YEUNG Cheuk-chi
Miss Cynthia YEN Kwun-wing
Mr. Adrian YIP Chun-to, B.B.S., M.H., J.P.

Secretary: Ms Becky HO