Special Topics  

Trafficking in Persons

According to Article 3(a) of the “Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, especially Women and Children, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organised Crime” (Palermo Protocol), trafficking in persons (TIP) is defined as –

    

“the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons, by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion, of abduction, of fraud, of deception, of the abuse of power or of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, for the purpose of exploitation, which shall include, at a minimum, the exploitation of the prostitution of others or other forms of sexual exploitation, forced labour or services, slavery or practices similar to slavery, servitude or the removal of organs .”

Chart1


Although there is no sign that Hong Kong is being actively used by syndicates as a destination or transit point for TIP, or that TIP is a prevalent or widespread problem in Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government attaches great importance to combatting TIP. We have put in place a package of effective and comprehensive legislative and administrative measures to combat TIP with continuous enhancements, including, among the others –

Legislative Framework

Hong Kong addresses TIP through various pieces of local legislation. The conduct of TIP as defined in the Palermo Protocol is covered and effectively prohibited by various pieces of legislation in Hong Kong, mainly including the following six aspects:

    
  • Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) prohibits TIP to or from Hong Kong for the purpose of prostitution; harbouring another person or exercising control or direction over another person for the purpose of that person’s prostitution or that that person shall do unlawful sexual acts with others; and any person from procuring another person to become a prostitute or cause prostitution of that person in Hong Kong or elsewhere. It also prohibits other crimes including rape, procuring another person by threats to do unlawful sexual acts with others and criminal intimidation. Moreover, there are provisions under the Crimes Ordinance that provide extra-territorial effect against certain sexual offences committed against children outside Hong Kong, including related arrangements and advertisements, making them punishable in Hong Kong;
  • Human Organ Transplant Ordinance (Cap. 465) prohibits commercial dealings in human organs;
  • Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance (Cap. 579) prohibits printing, making, producing, reproducing, copying, importing or exporting, publishing and possessing child pornography;
  • Immigration Ordinance (Cap. 115) prohibits arrangement for an unauthorised entrant to Hong Kong and employing illegal workers;
  • Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57) imposes criminal liability on employers involved in non-payment, under-payment of wages or delay in payment of wages, failure to grant rest days and statutory holidays to employees; and
  • other relevant ordinances which prohibit such crimes as assault, forcible taking or detention of persons with intent to sell him or her, child abduction, deception and blackmail, etc.

The most serious penalty for the above offences is life imprisonment. This ‘multiple-legislation’ approach provides law enforcement agencies (LEAs) and prosecutors with more flexibility in investigating and prosecuting TIP cases.



To enhance prosecutors’ awareness of TIP and forced labour, the Prosecution Code published in 2013 by the Department of Justice (DoJ) introduced a new paragraph on “Human Exploitation Cases”, with the aim and purpose of providing guidance to prosecutors as to what may amount to TIP and exploitation as well as the proper approach to be adopted in cases involving these elements. A new chapter on “Human Exploitation” is further added to the Prosecution Manual 2017 for the purpose of providing guidance to prosecutors on TIP issues.



High-level Policy Steer

To ensure the effective implementation of anti-TIP work and heighten public awareness of TIP, the Government has established in March 2018 a high-level Steering Committee, chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, with the Secretary for Security and Secretary for Labour and Welfare as the vice-chairmen and relevant department heads as members. The Steering Committee will offer strategic steer in respect of tackling TIP and enhancing the protection of FDHs; formulate and monitor the full implementation of the “ Action Plan to Tackle Trafficking in Persons and to Enhance Protection of Foreign Domestic Helpers in Hong Kong ” (the Action Plan); and ensure the provision of adequate resources to the relevant bureaux and departments for the effective implementation of the Action Plan.



Inter-departmental Co-operation

Inter-departmental co-operation is crucial for combating TIP. There are established mechanisms for the inter-departmental co-operation in this regard –

    
  • At the policy level, an Inter-departmental TIP Working Group (TIP Working Group), led by the Security Bureau (SB) and comprising the Customs and Excise Department (C&ED), DoJ, Immigration Department (ImmD), Labour Department (LD), Hong Kong Police Force (Police), and Social Welfare Department (SWD), was established in 2010 to enhance enforcement strategy against TIP. The Working Group monitors the overall situation of TIP and formulates the overall strategy for combating TIP in Hong Kong;

  • In 2016, a “Guideline on Inter-departmental Cooperation for the Handling of Suspected Cases of Trafficking in Persons” was issued to provide guidance for the TIP Working Group departments/bureaux on the general principles and procedures on the inter-departmental cooperation in the identification and handling of potential TIP cases; and

  • At the operational level, the Inter-departmental Joint Investigation Team (JIT), set up in 1998, enables intelligence exchange and joint investigation / cooperation on TIP activities in day-to-day operations. Police, C&ED, ImmD and LD are standing members of the JIT. The JIT meets regularly to discuss the current trends in TIP, monitor case statistics and law enforcement initiatives to combat the crime.

Chart2


Action Plan

The Action Plan to Tackle TIP and to Enhance Protection of FDHs in Hong Kong ”, promulgated in March 2018, presents a package of our multi-faceted measures that are comprehensive, strategic and targeted, covering victim identification, investigation, enforcement, prosecution, victim protection and support, prevention and partnership with different stakeholders.



The Action Plan underlines the HKSAR Government’s determination to tackle TIP and to enhance protection of FDHs working in Hong Kong.

Victim Identification

The HKSAR Government first introduced a TIP victim screening mechanism in 2015 in the ImmD. The mechanism was then gradually implemented by the Police in some police districts in 2016 and 2017, and also by the C&ED in 2017. As a result, the number of vulnerable persons screened under the mechanism has increased by 87%, from 2 515 in 2016 to 4 710 in 2017. In July 2018, the Police further extended the mechanism to all 24 police districts and C&ED extended to all formations. Police has appointed dedicated teams to handle cases relating to TIP.



Under the mechanism, Police, ImmD or C&ED officers will conduct screening and identification on those vulnerable persons who are arrested or who put themselves forward to the authorities with a view to ascertaining whether they are TIP victims to ascertain whether they are TIP victims.



Chart3


Tier 1 – Initial Screening

To assess whether the circumstances surrounding the vulnerable person indicates a possible TIP scenario, law enforcement officers will conduct initial screening by using the 7 trafficking indicators as a guide after all normal enquires.



Chart5


Tier 2 – Full Debriefing

Should one or more of the answers to the indicators is “Yes”, the officer should proceed to conduct full debriefing on the subject vulnerable person. Law enforcement officers will ask the subject a set of standard questions, to establish whether the subject person is genuinely a TIP victim.

Chart6


After investigation officers finished all the questions, they should be able to assess whether the subject vulnerable person is TIP victim. Criminal investigation will be commenced if subject is identified as TIP victim.

Chart4


Protection for Victims

Identified TIP victims will be provided with holistic and humane protection, including –



Chart7


    
  • Witness protection programme: when appropriate and when the situation so warrant, the Police will activate witness protection programme to protect the victims who are concerned about their personal safety.; they would also request overseas LEAs for assistance to victims and families in their home country when necessary;



  • Provision of welfare support and assistance: the victims will be provided with the necessary support and assistance in a timely manner, including the provision of shelter, medical services, psychological support, counselling and financial assistance, etc. Where necessary, SWD will assist to assess the welfare needs for the victims and provide them with the appropriate services;



  • Provision of financial assistance: departments concerned may consider providing financial assistance to victims residing overseas to enable them to return to Hong Kong to testify as witnesses. The assistance covers expenses incurred during their stay in Hong Kong, including accommodation, passage, daily subsistence and visa processing fees, etc.;



  • Consideration of proper arrangements during prosecution process: departments concerned bring TIP cases to the attention of the Prosecutions Division of DoJ promptly, so that a timely and proper assessment of the issue, including the question of immunity, can be made by DoJ;



  • Visa fee waiver: ImmD grants visa extension and waives the visa fees for victims who need to stay in Hong Kong to act as prosecution witnesses in legal proceedings instituted by the Police, ImmD or LD; and



  • Exceptional approval for FDHs to change employers in Hong Kong: ImmD may also consider granting exceptional approval for FDHs to change employers when there is evidence suggesting that they are being exploited or abused by their employers.



We will continue to provide necessary protection and suitable assistance to victims in need, as well as support for them to act as witness in legal proceedings and facilitation for their return to their home country.



Training

Training on anti-TIP is offered to the officers of LEAs, LD, SWD and prosecutors of DoJ, etc. In 2017, over 1 800 government officials from SB, DoJ, Police, ImmD, LD, C&ED and SWD have received local / overseas anti-TIP training. Relevant LEAs have included the theme of TIP into their induction training for all officers.








Training1

The Government also cooperates with other jurisdictions, including Australia, the United States and the European Union, etc. and other non-governmental organisations to provide specialised training workshops on TIP to the officers from various bureaux and departments. The training covered prevention of TIP, victim identification and protection, investigation techniques, relevant legislation and case law, trend of the crime, etc.








Training2

workshop_photo_4


Partnership

We fully understand that TIP cannot be tackled by the HKSAR Government alone, and we must work closely with the civil society, other sectors of the community and other governments. For example, we will seek to foster closer partnership with other countries to address problems that cannot be resolved by Hong Kong alone. LEAs will engage with their overseas counterparts on joint-investigation and intelligence sharing. We will also continue to maintain close liaison with foreign consulates in Hong Kong, as well as to actively participate in international or regional events and workshops to identify the best practice to combat TIP. Suitable measures will be pursued to heighten public awareness of TIP.

专题  

贩运人口

据《联合国打击跨国有组织犯罪公约关于预防、禁止和惩治贩运人口特别是妇女和儿童的补充议定书》(《巴勒莫议定书》)第3(a)条,贩运人口的定义为:

    

“为剥削目的而通过威胁、使用暴力手段或其他形式的胁迫、诱拐、欺诈、欺骗、滥用权力或欺凌弱势,或给予或收受款项或利益以取得某人的同意(而该人可控制另一人),以招募、运送、转移、窝藏或接收人口;而剥削应至少包括使人卖淫或其他形式的性剥削、强迫劳动或服务、奴役或类似奴役的做法,以及劳役或摘取器官。”

Chart1


虽然现时并无任何迹象显示犯罪集团经常以香港作为贩运人口的目的地或转运地,贩运人口在港亦非普遍或常见,但香港特区政府依然十分重视打击贩运人口活动。我们已制订一系列有效而全面的法津及行政措施,并且不断精益求益,以打击贩运人口,该等措施包括:

法津框架

香港通过多条不同的本港法例应对贩运人口活动。该等法例涵盖并有效禁止《巴勒莫议定书》所界定的「贩运人口」行为,主要包括以下六个范畴:



    
  • 《刑事罪行条例》(第200章)禁止以卖淫为目的而贩运他人进入或离开香港、禁止窝藏或控制或指示另一人使该人卖淫或与他人作出非法的性行为、禁止任何人促致另一人在香港或外地成为倡妓或导致他人卖淫,以及禁止其他包括强奸、以威胁促致他人作非法的性行为、刑事恐吓等多种罪行。此外,《刑事罪行条例》订有条文,将域外法律效力适用于某些在香港以外地区对儿童所犯下的性罪行(包括有关的安排和广告),使该罪行在香港可受到惩罚;
  • 《人体器官移植条例》(第465章)禁止将人体器官作商业交易;
  • 《防止儿童色情物品条例》(第579章)禁止印刷、制作、生产、复制、复印、进口或出口、发布以及管有儿童色情物品;
  • 《入境条例》(第115章)禁止安排未获授权进境者前来香港,以及禁止聘用非法劳工;
  • 《雇佣条例》(第57章)对雇主欠薪、短付工资、过期支付工资及不给予雇员休息日和法定假日等施加刑事责任;以及
  • 其他相关条例禁止包括袭击、意图贩卖而将人强行带走或禁锢、拐带儿童、欺诈及勒索等非法行为。

以上罪行,严重的可判终身监禁。以「多条法例」的模式打击贩运人口能为执法部门和检控官在调查及检控贩运人口案件时提供更大的弹性。



为提高检控官对贩运人口及强迫劳动的意识,律政司于2013年出版的《检控守则》中加入以「剥削他人案件」为题的新段落,目的是为检控官提供指引,说明可能构成贩运人口和剥削的元素,以及处理相关案件的恰当方法。并于2017年出版的《检控手册》中加入「剥削他人」的章节为检控官提供相关指引。



高层次政策指导

为确保各政策局和部门的打击贩运人口工作有效落实,并提高公众对贩运人口的认知,政府已于2018年3月成立一个由政务司司长担任主席、保安局局长和劳工及福利局局长出任副主席,以及相关部门首长为委员的高层次督导委员会。督导委员会会就打击贩运人口和加强保障外佣两方面作出策略性指导,制订及监察刚制定的 《打击贩运人口及加强保障外籍家庭佣工行动计划》 (《行动计划》 ) 的全面实施,确保相关政策局和部门得到足够资源,有效推行 《行动计划》



跨部门合作

跨部门合作对于打击贩运人口活动极其重要。政府有既定的跨部门合作机制以打击贩运人口活动:

    
  • 在政策层面上,政府于2010年成立一个由保安局领导的「跨部门打击贩运人口工作小组」,以加强打击贩运人口活动的执法策略,小组成员包括香港海关(海关) 、律政司、入境事务处(入境处)、劳工处、香港警务处(警务处)、和社会福利署(社署)。工作小组会监察本港贩运人口的整体情况,并制订打击有关活动的整体策略;


  • 保安局于2016年发出《跨部门合作处理怀疑贩运人口案件指引》,为「打击贩运人口工作小组」的政策局/部门成员提供跨部门合作的整体原则及程序指引,以助识别及处理潜在的贩运人口个案;及


  • 在行动层面上,政府于1998年成立「跨部门联合调查队」,以便相关部门在日常行动中就贩运人口活动交换情报,并进行联合调查/合作。警务处、海关、入境处和劳工处是联合调查队的常规成员。调查队会定期开会,讨论贩运人口活动的最新趋势,并监察个案统计数字和打击贩运人口罪案的执法措施。


Chart2


《行动计划》

于2018年3月所公布的《行动计划》包含了一篮子全面而具策略性和针对性的措施,涵盖识别受害人、调查、执法、检控、保护和支援受害人、预防工作和与各持份者建立伙伴合作关系等范畴。



《行动计划》展示香港特区政府打击贩运人口和加强保障在香港工作的外佣的决心。



识别受害人

政府於2015年先在入境處引入識別販運人口受害人機制,其後警務處於2016及2017年把機制陸續伸至至部份警區,而海關亦於2017年推行有關機制。因此,在機制下接受識別的人士數目,從2016年的2 515人,大幅增加87%至2017年的4 710人。警務處已於2018年7月把機制推展至全港24個警區,而海關亦把機制推展至整個部門。警務處亦已成立專責隊伍處理販運人口個案。



根据该机制的标准程序,警务处、入境处或海关的人员会对接触到的容易受剥削人士进行审核及识别,以确定是否为贩运人口受害人。



Chart3


第一階段: 初步審核

在完成一般调查程序后,执法人员会对有关人士进行初步审核。审核是以七个贩运指标作指引,以评估有关易受剥削人士的案情是否可能涉及贩运人口。



Chart4


第二阶段: 全面查问

如初步审核结果显示任何贩运人口指标,执法人员便须对受调查的易受剥削人士进行全面查问。进行全面查问时,执法人员会向受调查人士查问一系列的标准问题,以确定受调查人士是否真正的贩运人口受害者。



Chart5


查问人员问完所有问题后,应能够评估受调查人是否贩运人口受害者。如受调查人被识别为贩运人口受害者,相关的单位便会展开刑事调查。



Chart6


保护受害人

被识别的贩运人口受害人会获提供全面而人道的保护,包括:



Chart7


    
  • 保护证人计划:为担心人身安全的受害人提供安心的保证和保护。在合适情况下并有需要时,启动保护证人计划,并要求海外的执法机关在有需要时,为处于家乡的受害人及其家人提供协助;


  • 提供福利支持及协助:受害人会获适时提供所需的支援及协助,包括临时庇护、医疗服务、心理支援、辅导和经济援助等。有需要时,社署会协助评估受害人的福利需要并提供合适的服务;


  • 提供财政资助:为协助居于海外的受害人回港出庭作证,有关部门会考虑提供财政资助,以支付其在港期间所引致的费用,包括住宿、来回机票、生活补贴及签证申请费用等;


  • 考虑检控程序期间的适当安排:有关部门会尽快将贩运人口个案通知律政司刑事检控科,让律政司可以适时对相关问题(包括是否提供豁免起诉),作出合适的评估;


  • 豁免签证费用:受害人如须留港为由警务处、入境处或劳工处所提出的法律程序担任控方证人,入境处会批准他们延期逗留,并豁免相关的签证费用;以及


  • 特别批准外佣转换其香港雇主:如有证据显示外佣受雇主剥削或虐待,入境处亦会考虑特别批准其转换雇主。


我们会继续为有需要的受害人提供必要的保护和适切的协助,亦会支援他们在检控程序中担任证人,以及协助他们返回原居地。



培训

政府为执法部门、劳工处、社署的人员及律政司检控官等提供打击贩运人口的培训。于2017年,逾1 800名来自保安局、律政司、警务处、入境处、劳工处、海关及社署的政府人员接受了本地或海外有关打击贩运人口的培训。相关执法部门亦已将贩运人口主题加入部门人员的入职训练中。








Training1

政府亦与其他国家(包括澳洲、美国及欧洲联盟等)及非政府机构合作为各政策局及部门人员提供专门培训工作坊。培训内容涵盖预防贩运人口、识别及保护受害人、调查技巧、相关法例及案例、罪案趋势等。








Training2

workshop_photo_4


伙伴合作关系

我们完全明白,对付贩运人口问题不能单靠香港特区政府一己之力,而是必须与民间团体、其他社会界别及其他政府紧密合作,并肩作战。举例来说,我们会与外佣来源国(例如印尼和菲律宾)建立更紧密伙伴合作关系,以应对一些无法由香港独自解决的问题(例如债务劳役),并宣传我们保障在港工作外佣的新措施和现有措施。执法机关会与海外的对口单位合作,进行联合调查及分享情报。我们亦会继续与外国驻港领事馆保持紧密联系,以及积极参与国际或地区活动和工作坊,从而找出打撃贩运人口问题的最佳办法。我们亦将采取适当措施提高公众对贩运人口问题的关注。