Outbound Travel Alert  


Country OTA currently in force Supplementary Information

Kenya

Alert
Residents intending to visit the country or are already there should monitor the situation, exercise caution, attend to personal safety and avoid protests and large gatherings of people. Those in Kenya who need assistance may call the 24-hour hotline of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit (AHU) of the Immigration Department at (852)1868 or contact the Chinese Embassy in Kenya at (254)719235543.

  • In May 2016, protests over the electoral commission occurred in Kisumu, Mombasa and Nairobi, resulting in casualties.

  • In early April 2015, gunmen attacked a university in Garissa, resulting in serious casualties.

  • In late November 2014, a violent attack occurred on a bus in Mandera county near the Somali border, resulting in casualties.

  • A curfew has been imposed at Lamu county from 20 July to 20 August 2014, from 6:30 pm to 6:30 am daily, amidst ongoing violent attacks.

  • In early July 2014, violent attacks occurred at Lamu county and Tana River county, resulting in serious casualties. Separately, a tourist was shot in the head by robbers in Mombasa on 6 July 2014.

  • In mid June 2014, gunmen attacked Mpeketoni town on the Kenyan coast, resulted in serious casualties.

  • In May 2014, bomb attacks occurred in Nairobi and Mombasa, resulted in casualties. Some administrations have advised against all travel to border regions with Somalia, South Sudan and Ethiopia and against all non-essential travel to Mombasa and Eastleigh neighbourhood of Nairobi.

  • In late April 2014, a car bomb exploded in Nairobi, resulted in casualties.

  • In early January 2014, a grenade attack on a nightclub occurred in Diani (near Mombasa), resulted in injuries.

  • In early June 2013, grenade attacks occurred in the capital city, Nairobi, and Mombasa, resulted in injuries. In mid September, an attack took place at the Westgate shopping centre in the capital city, Nairobi, resulted in serious casualties, including a number of foreigners. In mid December, a grenade attack on a bus occurred in the capital city, Nairobi, resulted in serious casualties.

  • In 2012, an explosion in Mombasa in late June resulted in casualties. Attacks in Garissa in early July and clashes in Mombasa in late August resulted in casualties. From September to November, grenade attacks in the Kenyan capital, Nairobi, and Likoni (in the coastal region near Mombasa) resulted in casualties.

    [ current OTA issued on 25 June 2012, 17:00 ]


Registration for Outbound Travel Information (ROTI)

Before departing Hong Kong, residents may register via ROTI their travel itineraries and contact details to receive updates on OTA and related information. The Immigration Department may contact and assist the registrants in an emergency.


Hyperlinks to other travel advisories:

Outbound Travel Alert of Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China (Chinese only)

Travel Advisories of Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (English only)

Travel Reports and Warnings of Canadian Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (English only)

Travelling and Living Overseas of British Foreign and Commonwealth Office (English only)

Travel Health News from Travel Health Service of the Department of Health



Relevant Press Releases

外游警示制度  

国家 现正生效的
外游警示
附加资料

肯尼亚

外游警示
计划前赴或已在当地的港人应留意局势,提高警惕,注意安全,并避开示威或人群聚集的地方。在当地的港人,如需协助,可致电入境事务处「协助在外香港居民小组」二十四小时求助热线 (852) 1868或与中国驻肯尼亚使馆联络(254)719235543。

  • 2016年5月,基苏木、蒙巴萨及奈罗比发生抗议选举委员会示威,造成人命伤亡。

  • 2015年4月上旬,枪手袭击一间位于加里萨的大学,造成严重人命伤亡。

  • 2014年11月下旬,一辆巴士在索马里边界曼德拉县遭暴力袭击,造成人命伤亡。

  • 拉穆县持续发生暴力袭击,由2014年7月20日至8月20日每日晚上6时30分至翌日早上6时30分实施宵禁。

  • 2014年7月上旬,拉穆县及塔纳河县发生暴力袭击,造成严重人命伤亡。另外,一名游客于2014年7月6日在蒙巴萨被劫匪抢劫,头部中枪。

  • 2014年6月中旬,枪手袭击肯尼亚沿海城镇姆沛凯托尼,造成严重人命伤亡。

  • 2014年5月,蒙巴萨及奈罗比发生炸弹袭击,造成人命伤亡。有外国政府建议国民不应前赴肯尼亚与索马里、南苏丹及埃塞俄比亚接壤地区及如非必要,避免前赴蒙巴萨及奈罗比的伊斯特利区 (Eastleigh neighbourhood)。

  • 2014年4月下旬,奈罗比发生汽车炸弹爆炸,造成人命伤亡。

  • 2014年1月上旬,一间位于迪亚尼(蒙巴萨附近)的夜店遭手榴弹袭击,造成多人受伤。

  • 2013年6月上旬,首都奈罗比及蒙巴萨发生手榴弹袭击,造成多人受伤。9月中旬,首都奈罗比西门(Westgate)购物中心发生袭击,造成严重人命伤亡,当中包括多名外国人。12月中旬,一辆巴士在首都奈罗比遭手榴弹袭击,造成严重人命伤亡。

  • 2012年6月下旬,蒙巴萨发生炸弹爆炸造成人命伤亡。7月初及8月下旬,加里萨及蒙巴萨分别发生袭击和暴力冲突,造成人命伤亡。9月至11月,首都奈罗比和在蒙巴萨附近的海岸地区Likoni发生手榴弹袭击,造成人命伤亡。

    [ 现有警示发出时间 : 2012年6月25日,17:00 ]


外游提示登记服务

香港居民可在离开香港前,透过外游提示登记服务登记外游行程和联络方法,以便接收最新外游警示和相关资讯。遇有紧急事故,入境事务处可作紧急联络以提供协助。


连接其他旅游风险资讯的超连结:

中华人民共和国外交部的出国特别提醒 (只有中文版)

澳洲外交及贸易署的旅游忠告(只有英文版)

加拿大外交及国际贸易署的旅游报告及警告(只有英文版)

英国英联邦及外交事务部有关在外地旅游和居住的提示(只有英文版)

卫生署旅游健康服务旅游情报



外游相关的新闻公报