Special Topics  

The Boundary and Basic Law Provisions

The Boundary

The boundary of the administrative division of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was promulgated in Order No. 221 of the State Council of the People's Republic of China. The Police patrols the land and sea boundaries and Immigration Department and Customs and Excise Department control the flow of people and goods through the control points respectively.


The patrols of the land and sea boundaries

2.The Basic Law expressly provides that the Government of the HKSAR is responsible for the maintenance of public order in the Region. The Police is responsible for, inter alia, patrolling the land and sea boundaries.

3. The Customs and Excise Department safeguards HKSAR's status as a separate customs territory, as provided for in Article 116 of the Basic Law.

4. The Government of the HKSAR may apply immigration controls on entry into, stay in and departure from the Region by persons from foreign states and regions, as provided for in Article 154 of the Basic Law. The Government of the HKSAR also controls entry into the HKSAR from other parts of China, as provided for in Article 22 of the Basic Law. The Immigration Department is the sole authority for processing and issuing HKSAR passports.

5. These Basic Law provisions are backed up by local legislation which are rigorously enforced.


Control of Mainland residents entering HKSAR

Hong Kong SAR Passport

6. Article 22 of the Basic Law stipulates that, for entry into the HKSAR, people from other parts of China must apply for approval. Mainland residents who wish to enter Hong Kong for whatever reason, must apply to the relevant authorities of their residential districts for approval in accordance with the relevant national laws and administrative regulations, and must hold valid documents issued by the relevant authorities. They are also subject to our immigration control.

7. Mainland residents holding the following documents may enter HKSAR through the control points legally :

  • One-way Permit (OWP) - those who wish to settle in Hong Kong for family reunion must apply for OWPs from the Exit and Entry Administration Offices of the Public Security Bureau of the Mainland at the places of their household registration. The present quota is 150 per day.

  • Exit Entry Permits (commonly known as Two-way Permits (TWPs)) - those who wish to enter Hong Kong for visiting relatives, business, sightseeing, study, employment, training or for other special reasons warranting entry to Hong Kong must apply for TWPs from the Exit and Entry Administration Offices of the Public Security Bureau of the Mainland at the places of their household registration with the appropriate endorsements.

Holders of People's Republic of China passports may also transit HKSAR on their way to and from another country or territory, provided that they have valid visa for the destination and confirmed flight bookings.


  Index Boundary Control ->

專題  

香港特別行政區行政區域界線
與《基本法》的規定

區域界線

港特別行政區(特區)的行政區域界線由中華人民共和國國務院令第221號頒布,在一九九七年七月一日生效。香港警方負責巡邏海陸界線。而入境事務處和香港海關則分別負責管制經各管制站進出香港的旅客和貨物。

巡邏海陸界線

2.《基本法》明確表示,特區政府負責維持特區的社會治安。本港警方的職責之一便是巡邏海陸界線。

3. 根據《基本法》第一百一十六條,香港海關負責維持特區單獨的關稅區地位。


4.《基本法》第一百五十四條規定,特區政府可對世界各國及各地區人士的入境、逗留和離境,實施出入境管制;第二十二條則規定,特區政府可管制中國其他地區的人士進入特區。入境事務處是辦理和簽發特區護照的唯一機構。

5. 透過嚴格執行本地法例,《基本法》條文得以落實。



管制內地居民進入特區

香港特別行政區護照

6.《基本法》第二十二條規定,中國其他地區的人進入特區須辦理手續。內地居民不論以何種事由要求來港,均須依照國家有關法律、行政法規的規定,向其所在地區的有關機關申請辦理批准手續,並須持有有關機關製發的有效證件,他們亦須符合本港的出入境管制規定。

7. 內地居民可持以下證件經管制站合法進入特區﹕

  • 《前往港澳通行證》(慣稱單程證)-欲來港定居與家人團聚的內地居民須向其內地戶口所在地的公安機關出入境管理部門申領單程證。現時配額是每天150人。

  • 《往來港澳通行證》(慣稱雙程證)-欲來港探親、經商、觀光、就學、就業、培訓或因其他特殊事由需赴港的內地居民,須向其內地戶口所在地的公安機關出入境管理部門申領雙程證及適用的赴港簽注。

持有中華人民共和國護照的人士亦可經香港特區過境往返其他國家或地方,但須持有續程簽證和確定機位機票。


  主頁 區域界線管制 ->