Special Topics  

Boundary Control

There are immigration and customs controls of passengers and goods at all arrival and departure points in the territory. The Hong Kong International Airport is the control point for air passengers and goods. For sea-borne passengers and goods, there are the Hong Kong-Macau Ferry Terminal, China Ferry Terminal, Kai Tak Cruise Terminal, Tuen Mun Ferry Terminal, Eastern Immigration Anchorage, Western Immigration Anchorage, and Tuen Mun Immigration Anchorage for clearance. Besides, there are Kwai Tsing Container Terminals and River Trade Terminal which are providing goods clearance. There are seven control points serving cross-boundary land traffic, viz Lo Wu, Hung Hom, Man Kam To, Lok Ma Chau, Sha Tau Kok, Shenzhen Bay and Lok Ma Chau Spur Line.

Boundary Control : Air

Airport Control

Undesirable persons and prohibited goods are kept from entering the HKSAR through the Hong Kong International Airport by means of controls effected by the Immigration Department and the Customs and Excise Department respectively.

The Customs and Excise Department is the primary agency responsible for the suppression of smuggling activities at the Airport. The Department also acts as the front-line agency to prevent importation and exportation of prohibited articles concerning security, public health, environmental protection and international obligations.

The Immigration Department is also responsible for curbing illegal migration activities through the airport to fulfil the HKSAR's international obligations.

Operations of Air Control Point

Several categories of passengers are identified as undesirables, including doubtful visitors (bona fides of visit in doubt, potential overstayers, unapproved residence seekers and transit abusers), fraudulent travel document users coming for illicit activities, drug smugglers, alien smugglers and criminals.

Airport Control

To guard against their entry, all passengers have to go through immigration clearance procedures at the immigration counters at the Airport. Doubtful cases will be given secondary examination by immigration officers. A dedicated team of officers conducts detailed examinations on passengers from flights. Intercepted passengers not qualified for entry will be refused permission to land and removed to the last port or place of origin by the first available means.

To assist the immigration control officers in detecting forged travel documents, each immigration counter is equipped with an ultra-violet light. Hand-held security laminate verifiers are available at Duty Officer's office. Advanced equipment for forgery detection have been installed at both the frontline and backroom offices. These include Video Spectral Comparator for detecting counterfeit and altered travel documents as well as visas, and the Electronic Documentation Information System on Network (EDISON) which contains images of over 4,500 genuine and fake travel document samples from over 200 countries for verifying the security features of the documents in question.

Forged travel documents detection
Training programmes

Intelligence collation and analysis play an important role in combating illegal activities. Training programmes are organised regularly to keep our immigration officers abreast of the recent trends and modus operandi employed by forgers. Officers from the local consulates are also invited from time to time to give talks on forgery detection to our staff.

To take advantage of information technology to enhance our efficiency, the Entry / Exit Processing and Records System (EXPRESS) has been in full operation since July 2004 with the wide use of document optical readers at all control points for reading machine readable passports and Hong Kong Identity Cards. In end-2005, the e-Channel, an automated system for self-service immigration clearance, was introduced in the Airport for use by Hong Kong residents. Since May 2008, the service has been extended by phases to eligible frequent visitors, Mainland visitors and Macao permanent residents. The new Immigration Control System (ICONS) is being implemented in phases from early 2016 to early 2017 to enhance the operational efficiency of control points. The new system involves upgrading existing e-Channels to become multi-purpose e-Channels and introducing over 150 multi-purpose e-Channels, to enable flexible deployment of e-Channel services according to the passenger traffic pattern.

A total of 43.23 million passenger movements in and out of Hong Kong by air were recorded in 2014. In 2015, 46.32 million passenger movements were recorded. In the first nine months of 2016, 36.16 million were recorded.


Boundary Control : Land

Land Boundary Control

The land boundary is constantly patrolled by the Hong Kong Police Force to detect illegal immigrants. The 35 km boundary fence erected along the land boundary is equipped with an array of technical aids which enables the Police to maintain vigilant control of the land boundary.

Land Boundary Control


The Police's enforcement actions at the land boundary are supplemented by land use control. The land adjacent to the boundary has been designated as a Frontier Closed Area and is subject to access and development restrictions. This serves as an effective buffer zone to assist in combating illegal immigration and smuggling. These control measures have been proven effective.


In response to social development and demand, the Government has reduced the Frontier Closed Area in three stages, from about 2,800 hectares to about 400 hectares. The first stage of the Frontier Closed Area reduction was implemented in February 2012, about 740 hectares of land in Sha Tau Kok and Mai Po was excised. The second stage was implemented in June 2013, excised about 710 hectares of land around Lok Ma Chau. The third (final) stage was also implemented in January 2016, which excised about 930 hectares of land around Ta Kwu Ling.

Operations of Land Control Points

Of the seven land control points, Lo Wu, Hung Hom and Lok Ma Chau Spur Line deal with railway passengers; while the other four control points (namely, Lok Ma Chau, Sha Tau Kok, Shenzhen Bay and Man Kam To) control both vehicle and passenger movements.

There are altogether 330 immigration counters and 348 e-Channels (including 6 e-Channels for cross boundary students and 30 express e-Channels at Lo Wu Control Point, and 6 e-Channels for cross boundary students at Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Control Point) for passenger clearance and 152 vehicle kiosks (among which 84 are equipped with vehicular e-Channels) for vehicle clearance in both directions. They handled an average of 599,907 passengers and 41,675 vehicles a day in 2014; an average of 609,981 passengers and 41,517 vehicles per day in 2015. In the first nine months of 2016, an average of 596,971 passengers and 41,654 vehicles per day were recorded. Eligible Mainland visitors, frequent visitors and Macao permanent residents may use e-Channels for immigration clearance at the seven control points. E-Channels with voice navigation function are installed at Lok Ma Chau Spur Line and Shenzhen Bay Control Points for visually impaired persons.

Immigration counters

Each counter and kiosk is equipped with a computer workstation and document optical reader, all linked up to a mid-range central hub and connected through a territory-wide network to other control points and the headquarters. Machine readable travel documents and Hong Kong Identity Cards are scanned by the document optical reader with the movement over the counter captured by the workstation.

Other than the advanced equipment installed at the control points, a set of forgery manuals listing details of the defects of forged travel documents and visas are available at the backroom for reference. All control officers are regularly briefed and trained on the latest trends and modes of forgery.

Boundary Control : Sea

Sea Boundary Control



Sea Boundary Control

The sea boundary is patrolled by the Marine Region of the Hong Kong Police, whose primary responsibilities are combating illegal immigration, smuggling and other crimes at sea. The Region is equipped with a modern fleet of police launches, smaller craft, operational barges and logistics barges. The fleet is centrally commanded from a state-of-the-art command and control centre, which integrates the latest day / night camera systems with digital radars to monitor Hong Kong waters. Marine Police have been actively engaged in combating illegal immigration and conducting multi-agency operations to combat smuggling activity at sea between the HKSAR and the Mainland. Smuggling cases arrested by the Marine Police are handed over to the Customs and Excise Department for prosecution and forfeiture proceedings.

Operations at Sea Control Points and Anchorages

Passengers arriving at the HKSAR by sea will receive immigration and customs clearance at the China Ferry Terminal, Hong Kong-Macau Ferry Terminal, Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Tuen Mun Ferry Terminal. In 2014, the number of passengers who used these sea control points and other anchorages reached a total of 28.36 million. There were 27.66 million passenger movements recorded in 2015 and 19.65 million passenger movements in the first nine months of 2016. These passengers are subject to the same immigration and customs clearance as those who enter through the land and airport control points. Eligible Mainland visitors, frequent visitors and Macao permanent residents may use e-Channels for immigration clearance at the four control points. E-Channels with voice navigation function are installed at Hong Kong-Macau Ferry Terminal Control Point for visually impaired persons.

In respect of other incoming and outgoing cargo vessels, they are all required to go through immigration clearance at immigration anchorages unless otherwise directed or exempted. There are currently three immigration anchorages, namely Western Immigration Anchorage, Eastern Immigration Anchorage and Tuen Mun Immigration Anchorage. The Western Immigration Anchorage and Tuen Mun Immigration Anchorage provide services round the clock.

After completion of immigration clearance, incoming cargo vessels will proceed to the public cargo working areas for loading and unloading of cargo. Customs clearance are conducted at either the anchorages or the cargo working areas.

Immigration Anchorages

Under Immigration Department's "Pre-arrival Clearance" Scheme, approved ocean-going vessels and Mainland river / coastal trade vessels may proceed directly to Kwai Tsing Container Terminals, River Trade Terminal or mid-stream buoys for loading and / or unloading operation. All cargoes carried on board ocean-going vessels are subject to Customs clearance.


<- The Boundary and Basic Law Provisions Index Anti-Smuggling Efforts ->

專題  

區域界線管制

香港所有的出入境管制站,旅客和貨物均須受出入境和海關管制。香港國際機場是航空旅客和空運貨物的管制站。至於從海路來港的旅客和貨物,本港設有港澳客輪碼頭、中國客運碼頭、啓德郵輪碼頭、屯門客運碼頭、入境船隻東西兩面碇泊處和屯門入境船隻碇泊處辦理出入境手續。此外,葵青貨櫃碼頭及內河碼頭亦可辦理貨物清關手續。陸路方面則設有七個過境管制站,包括羅湖、紅磡、文錦渡、落馬洲、沙頭角、深圳灣和落馬洲支線。

區域界線管制:航空

機場管制

入境事務處和香港海關透過管制措施,分別防止不受歡迎的人物和違禁貨物經香港國際機場進入香港特區。

在香港國際機場,香港海關是負責阻遏走私活動的主要執法機關。此外,海關作為前線執法機關,亦負責防止基於保安、公眾健康、保護環境及履行國際義務等理由而被禁物品的進出口。

入境事務處負責遏止非法移民經機場移居海外的活動,以履行香港特區的國際責任。

航空管制站的運作


本港有幾類旅客列為不受歡迎人物,包括可疑的旅客(訪港目的有可疑、可能逾期逗留、意圖非法居留和濫用過境安排的人士)、使用偽造旅行證件來港從事非法活動的人、毒販、偷運人口者和罪犯。

機場管制

為防止上述不法份子入境,所有入境旅客均須在入境機場櫃枱接受檢查,入境事務處人員會把可疑個案作進一步訊問。被截獲的不合入境資格乘客會被拒入境,並盡快遣返來港前的口岸或原居地。

為協助出入境管制人員識別偽造旅行證件,每個出入境管制櫃枱設有紫外線燈,而在值日室則備有手提防偽膠膜檢查器。前線及行動支援單位亦設有先進的偽證偵查儀器,包括「視像光譜比對儀」,及載有200多個國家超過4,500種真確和偽造旅行證件樣本影像的「證件圖像資訊系統」,以核實被查驗證件的真偽。

識別偽造旅行證件
訓練課程


情報的整理和分析,對打擊不法活動甚為重要。為此,入境事務處會定期為各人員舉辦訓練課程,使他們認識偽造證件的最新趨勢和慣用手法。此外,本港各領事館的人員亦不時應邀主持關於偵查偽證的講座。

我們亦借助資訊科技提高效率。「快檢通」系統已在2004年7月全面投入服務,所有管制站已廣泛使用證件光學閱讀機,閱讀可機讀的護照和香港身分證。機場管制站自2005年年底,提供e-道自動化自助出入境檢查系統給本港市民使用。自2008年5月開始,該服務更分階段擴展至合資格的經常訪港旅客、內地訪客及澳門永久性居民。新的「出入境管制系統」會於2016年年初至2017年年初分階段推出,以提升管制站的運作效率;新系統包括將現有e-道提升為多功能e-道,及新增超過150條多功能e-道,使e-道服務可因應旅客流量靈活調配。

2014年經機場進出香港的有4,323萬人次,在2015年有4,632萬人次,在2016年首九個月有3,616萬人次。


區域界線管制:陸路

陸上區域界線的管制

香港警隊在陸路邊界維持24小時巡邏,以堵截非法入境者。全長35公里的陸路邊界均設有邊界圍網,並附設一系列監察系統讓警方有效地執行陸路邊界的管制工作。

陸上區域界線管制


此外,管制土地用途亦有助警方在陸路邊界進行執法行動。邊界的毗鄰土地被劃為「邊境禁區」,以對人員進出和土地發展作出限制。藉著這個有效的緩衝區,有助警方打擊非法入境和走私犯罪活動。而事實證明這些管制措施十分有效。


隨著社會的發展及要求,政府已分三階段縮減陸地邊境禁區,由原來的約2,800公頃縮減至現時約400公頃。第一階段邊境禁區縮減於2012年2月實施,釋出的土地約740公頃,包括沙頭角及米埔部分地方。第二階段邊境禁區縮減於2013年6月實施,在落馬洲一帶釋出土地約710公頃。而最後的第三階段邊境禁區縮減亦已於2016年1月實施,在打鼓嶺一帶釋出約930公頃土地。

陸路管制站的運作

七個陸路管制站中,羅湖、紅磡和落馬洲支線負責乘搭鐵路的乘客的出入境檢查;落馬洲、沙頭角、深圳灣和文錦渡四個管制站,則負責檢查出入境的車輛和旅客。

七個管制站(以出入境兩個方向合計)共有330個旅客出入境檢查櫃枱及348條旅客e-道(包括開設在羅湖管制站的6條學童e–道及30條快捷e-道及開設在落馬洲支線管制站的6條學童e–道)和152個車輛檢查亭(其中84個檢查亭配備車輛e-道)。在2014年,這些櫃枱和車輛檢查亭每日平均處理599,907名旅客和41,675輛汽車。在2015年每日平均處理609,981名旅客及41,517輛汽車;在2016年首九個月每日平均處理596,971名旅客及41,654輛汽車。另外,七個管制站亦為合資格的內地訪客,經常訪港旅客及澳門永久性居民提供e-道過關服務。落馬洲支線管制站及深圳灣管制站更增設具語音輔助功能的e-道供視障人士使用。

旅客出入境檢查櫃枱

每個櫃枱和出入境檢查亭均裝有電腦和證件光學閱讀機,全部接駁至一個中型中央集線器,並透過一個全港網絡與其他管制站和總部連接。可機讀的旅遊證件和香港身分證經證件光學閱讀機掃描後,電腦便會把旅客過關的資料記錄下來。

除櫃枱裝有先進設備外,管制站內作支援的辦公室還備存一套手冊,詳列偽造旅行證件和簽證的各項破綻,供管制站人員參考。此外,所有管制站人員均經常有機會接受培訓及參與業務研討會,認識偽造證件的最新趨勢和手法。

區域界線管制:海路

香港特區水域保安

水域保安

海上水域由香港警務處水警總區負責巡邏,其主要任務是在海上打擊非法入境、走私和其他罪行。香港水警擁有一支現代化的船隊,包括巡邏警輪、快速小艇,行動平台躉船及警察後勤躉船。該總區的指揮及控制中心利用一套結合了雷達、日夜攝像鏡頭,以及熱能探測器的先進系統監察海面情況和指揮船隊運作。水警致力堵截非法入境者流入,以及採取跨部門合作模式打擊海上跨境走私活動。偵破的走私案件會交由香港海關跟進。

海路管制站和碇泊處的運作

海路旅客抵港時會在中國客運碼頭、港澳客輪碼頭、啓德郵輪碼頭、屯門客運碼頭接受入境及海關檢查。在2014年,使用海路管制站和其他入境船隻碇泊處的旅客共有2,836萬人次。在2015年共錄得2,766萬人次,在2016年首九個月有1,965萬人次。他們辦理的出入境檢查和清關手續,與經由陸路和機場管制站出入境的旅客並無分別。此外,四個管制站亦為合資格的內地訪客、經常訪港旅客及澳門永久性居民提供e-道過關服務。港澳客輪碼頭管制站更增設有具語音輔助功能的e-道供視障人士使用。

至於其他出入香港的貨輪,除非另有指示或獲得豁免,都須在入境船隻碇泊處辦理出入境檢查手續。本港目前有三個入境船隻碇泊處,即入境船隻東西兩面碇泊處和屯門入境船隻碇泊處,其中入境船隻西面碇泊處及屯門入境船隻碇泊處均全日提供服務。

辦妥出入境檢查手續後,抵港貨輪會駛到公眾貨物裝卸區起卸貨物。海關會在碇泊處或貨物裝卸區進行清關工作。

根據入境事務處的預辦入境檢查(預檢)計劃,事先獲批准的遠洋船隻及內地內河及沿海貨船可直接駛往葵青貨櫃碼頭、內河碼頭或中流碇泊處進行裝卸貨櫃。海關會對進出口的貨物進行清關工作。

入境船隻碇泊處

<- 香港特別行政區行政區域界線與《基本法》的規定 主頁 反走私工作 ->