image file
Links  
Post-Release Supervision Board


Length and Conditions of Supervision Order

The Post-Release Supervision Board (the Board) considers each case on its own merits in determining the length of supervision. However, the supervision period shall be no longer than the remitted part of the prisoner's sentence according to section 7(1)(c) of the Post-Release Supervision of Prisoners Ordinance (the Ordinance). In accordance with section 24 of the Ordinance, the supervision period imposed on prisoners sentenced before the commencement date of the Ordinance, i.e. 30 November 1996, shall not exceed a period equal to half the period from the commencement date to the date of release, or six months, whichever is the greater. Depending on the circumstances of individual prisoners, the length of supervision normally ranges from a period of six months to two years, although where the Board considers it appropriate or necessary a shorter or longer period may be imposed. In general, a minimum supervision period of six months is needed to provide adequate time for the supervising officers to guide and assist supervisees to reintegrate effectively into society as law-abiding citizens.

The Board takes account of a prisoner's age and background, previous convictions, nature of the index offence, sense of remorse, behaviour in prison, family support, physical and mental condition and any other relevant factors before coming to a decision as to what is the best for the prisoner and the public interest. In addition, the Correctional Services Department distributes a booklet on the Post-Release Supervision of Prisoners Scheme (the Scheme) and the Board issues an information note on the factors to be considered in determining the length of supervision period to eligible prisoners well before their cases are considered to enhance their understanding of the Scheme.

A supervisee has to comply with the conditions set out in his supervision order, including the conditions that he shall be of good behaviour, reside at an address approved by his supervising officer, undertake only such employment as approved and meet with his supervising officer at least once a month and so on. Depending on individual circumstances, the Board may impose additional conditions, such as the requirement for receiving psychiatric and/or psychological follow-up treatment.






PRSB Home


Back
Top

圖片
相關網址  
監管釋囚委員會


監管令的期限和條件

監管釋囚委員會(委員會)決定監管期時,會考慮每宗個案的獨特情況;但是,根據《監管釋囚條例》(該條例)第7(1)(c)條,監管期不得超過刑期獲減免的部分。根據該條例第24條,在條例實施當日(即一九九六年十一月三十日)前被判刑的囚犯,其監管期不得超過由該條例生效至他獲釋日期該段期間的一半長度,或六個月,兩者以較長者為準。視乎個別囚犯的情況,監管期一般由六個月至兩年不等;但委員會如認為恰當或有需要,可訂定較短或較長的期限。一般而言,最低監管期需有六個月,這樣監管人員才有足夠時間指導和協助受監管者成功重返社會,做個奉公守法的市民。

委員會考慮囚犯的年齡及背景、以往的定罪記錄、是次罪行的性質、囚犯的悔意、在獄中的行為表現、家庭支持、身體和精神狀況,以及其他相關因素,然後才作出一個最符合囚犯和公眾利益的監管期決定。此外,在委員會審議有關個案前,懲教署會向符合監管資格的囚犯派發有關監管釋囚計劃(該計劃)的小冊子,而委員會會預早發給有關囚犯一份資料單張,列出委員會在決定監管期時會予以考慮的因素,以提高他們對該計劃的認識。

受監管的釋囚必須遵守監管令載列的所有條件,包括保持行為良好、居住在已獲其經監管人員批准的地方、只能從事經批准的工作,以及每月最少一次與監管人員會面等。委員會可按個別情況增訂監管條件,例如規定受監管者須接受精神及/或心理方面的跟進治療。





監管釋囚委員會主頁



上一頁
 
頁首