Links  


Long-term Prison Sentences Review Board


Establishment, Functions and Duties of the Board

The Long-term Prison Sentences Review Board (the Board) was established pursuant to the Long-term Prison Sentences Review Ordinance, Cap. 524, which came into operation on 30 June 1997. This statutory and independent Board replaced the Board of Review, Long Term Prison Sentences, an advisory body responsible for reviewing the imprisonment sentences of certain categories of persons and making recommendations on possible remission and commutation.

The principal function of the Board is to conduct regular reviews on the cases of persons serving indeterminate sentences, those with long-term sentences (i.e. 10 years or longer), and those serving determinate sentences who were under the age of 21 at the date of conviction. Persons whose indeterminate or long-term sentences were imposed outside Hong Kong but who were transferred back to Hong Kong to serve such sentences are also eligible for review by the Board. All these persons are collectively termed as “subjects” thereafter.

When conducting a sentence review, the Board may recommend to the Chief Executive that an indeterminate sentence of a subject be substituted by a determinate one or that a determinate sentence of a subject be remitted. Besides, the Board may order a subject who is serving an indeterminate sentence to be released conditionally under supervision. For a subject whose indeterminate sentence has been converted to a determinate one by the Chief Executive, the Board may also make a post-release supervision order directing the early release of the subject under supervision.

The powers conferred to the Board to order conditional release and post-release supervision ensure that the subjects, after having been incarcerated for a long period of time, are provided with guidance and assistance to help them reintegrate into society, and that the public can be protected from reasonably foreseeable harm as a result of their release.


LTPSRB Home


Back
Top

相關網址  


長期監禁刑罰覆核委員會


委員會的設立、職能和責任

長期監禁刑罰覆核委員會(下稱「委員會」)是根據自1997年6月30日開始實施的《長期監禁刑罰覆核條例》(第524章)而成立。這個法定的獨立委員會前身是長期囚禁覆檢委員會,該委員會屬諮詢性質,負責覆核若干類別人士的監禁刑罰,並且就應否寬減和縮減刑罰的事宜提交建議。

委員會的主要職能是定期覆核若干類別人士的個案,包括正在服無限期刑罰人士、正在服長期監禁刑罰(即10年或以上)的人士,以及正在服確定限期刑罰而在定罪當日未滿21歲的人士的個案。在香港以外地方被判無限期刑罰或長期監禁刑罰但獲移交回香港服刑的人士,也合資格接受委員會覆核刑罰。所有這些人士在下文統稱為「有關人士」。

委員會在覆核刑罰時,可向行政長官建議以確定限期刑罰取代有關人士的無限期刑罰,或建議寬減有關人士的確定限期刑罰。此外,委員會可下令正在服無限期刑罰的有關人士在監管下有條件釋放。委員會亦可對已獲行政長官由無限期刑罰改為確定限期刑罰的有關人士作出釋放後監管令,指示有關人士在監管下提早釋放。.

賦權委員會下令有條件釋放有關人士和對有關人士施加釋放後的監管,目的是確保服刑已久的人士獲得指導和支援,以協助他們重新融入社會,同時保障社會人士免受合理地可預見因他們獲釋而造成的傷害。


長期監禁刑罰覆核委員會主頁


Back
Top