Marriage (Amendment) Bill 2014 : Our Duty to Uphold the Rule of Law  


Marriage (Amendment) Bill 2014 :

Our Duty to Uphold the Rule of Law

Secretary for Security - T K LAI

The issue before the Court of Final Appeal (CFA) in the W Case is whether the appellant W, a male-to-female transsexual person who has received full sex reassignment surgery (SRS), should be identified in the sex at birth or the reassigned sex during marriage registration? The CFA ruled that transsexual persons who have received full SRS should be treated as persons of their reassigned sex and therefore eligible to marry an opposite-sex partner.

Though not addressed in the W case, the CFA raised a series of problems and gender recognition issues facing transsexual persons (including those who have not received full SRS) and recommended that the Administration and the Legislature consider how best to handle them.

The Government attaches great importance to the decision and recommendations of the CFA and has taken proactive follow-up actions on two fronts in parallel.

First, with the CFA judgment, it is the duty of the Administration to introduce the Marriage (Amendment) Bill 2014 (the Bill) to align the statute law with the judgment so as to afford the public a clear understanding of the right of transsexual persons who have received full SRS to marry. This is an important principle of the rule of law.

Second, in response to the CFA's recommendations, the Government set up an Inter-departmental Working Group on Gender Recognition (IWG) led by the Secretary for Justice earlier this year to identify relevant legislative provisions and conduct studies on schemes and laws in overseas jurisdictions. The IWG will listen to expert (such as legal and medical) opinions and consult the public. An informed community of the issues involved is conducive to the forging of societal consensus. The IWG has already held several meetings.

Despite the complexity of matters, we have moved in full swing since handing down of the judgment and completed such groundwork within six months. We briefed the Legislative Council (LegCo) Security Panel on our work plan this January, and introduced the Bill shortly thereafter.

The relevant Bills Committee of LegCo has already held five meetings to discuss the Bill and received deputations from the public. The following clarifications may assist all parties better understand the contents and purpose of the Bill.

Heterosexual institution of marriage unfettered

First, there are views against the Bill on grounds that they oppose same-sex marriage. As plainly stated by the CFA, nothing in the W Case concerns same-sex marriage. W is a transsexual person. Persons suffering from transsexualism are distressed by the incongruity between their anatomic sex and their self-identified sex and therefore wish to make their bodies as congruent with the opposite sex as possible. In this light, transsexualism should be distinguished from homosexuality.

Section 40 of the Marriage Ordinance stipulates that every marriage under the Ordinance shall be a formal ceremony recognised by the law as involving the voluntary union for life of one man and one woman to the exclusion of all others. Such provision will not be affected by the passage of the Bill. That W, after receiving full SRS, is entitled to be treated as a "female" person and therefore eligible to marry a male person is completely in line with the existing institution of heterosexual monogamous marriage.

Surgery proven as an effective cure for transsexualism

Second, it is said that the "requirement" of full SRS in the Bill would have the effect of compelling transsexuals to undergo unwanted surgeries, amounting to "torture". This argument is simply flawed and puts the cart before the horse. We must set the record straight.

As explained by Dr Albert Yuen, the SRS surgeon in the Hospital Authority, in order to treat their persistent mental distress arising from the incongruence between their minds and their bodies, it is medically necessary to perform SRS for people with transsexualism. Before surgery, they have to be assessed by psychiatrists and clinical psychologists for a substantial period of time. They would receive hormone of the opposite sex to make sure they accept the body changes. Besides, they should feel comfortable with the at least 12-month real-life experience in the opposite sex. Surgeons would clearly explain to patients the consequences, risks and impacts of the surgeries, which would proceed only with patients' consent after thorough consideration. Almost all of those who received SRS no longer suffered from the anxiety and distress afterwards.

It is clear that to persons suffering from transsexualism, SRS is a means to treat their anxiety and distress. Indeed, SRS brings them permanent relief for their mental distress. How could this be coined as torture?

Whether persons who have not received full SRS may marry in the sex of their choice is indeed a gender recognition issue on which the CFA neither addressed nor decided in the W Case. Given the ramifications of the issue, there is no basis for the Bill to address such question, which would be examined by the IWG. The criticisms that the Bill was restrictive in scope, harsh and not able to address the needs of other transgender persons are therefore entirely misconceived.

What the rule of law requires

Lastly, some query the need for the Bill if W could marry in accordance with the CFA judgment when the CFA Order comes into effect anyway.

I must reiterate that following the CFA's final judgment, it is the duty of the Administration to update the relevant legal provisions as soon as possible, in the spirit of the rule of law and good governance. Not only does it demonstrate our respect for and efforts to implement the CFA judgment, but it also brings clarity to the Marriage Ordinance by clearly reflecting the judgment in statute law. Protection of the marriage rights of transsexual persons who received full SRS by clear legal provisions cannot be achieved otherwise (such as not amending the law at all, or providing in the law that the sex of transsexual persons would be determined under administrative guidelines). The amended Marriage Ordinance would assist marrying parties, civil celebrants and the public at large to understand the legal requirements, thereby reducing confusion and unnecessary disputes.

The sole purpose of the Bill is to reflect without more what has been irreversibly decided by the CFA in our legislation. Nothing in the Bill relates to same-sex marriage. The Administration will continue to strive to explain the Bill to LegCo Members and the public, with a view to seeking its timely passage before the CFA Order comes into effect.

30 May 2014

《2014年婚姻(修訂)條例草案》符合法治精神  


《2014年婚姻(修訂)條例草案》符合法治精神

保安局局長黎棟國

終審法院(終院)在W案處理的問題是完成整項性別重置手術(或俗稱變性手術),由男變為女的W小姐,該以出生時或變性後的性別結婚?終院裁定,已完成整項性別重置手術的人結婚時應被視為變性後的性別,可與異性結婚。

終院亦提及一連串並非由W案引起,但變性人士(包括未完成變性手術的人)面對的困難和性別認問題,希望行政和立法機關考慮如何處理。

政府尊重和重視終院的裁決和建議,我們同步從兩方面積極展開工作。

第一,基於終院裁決,政府有責任提出《2014年婚姻(修訂)條例草案》(《條例草案》),將裁決以成文法納入法例,讓公眾清楚法律關於已完成整項變性手術人士的結婚權利,這是法治精神的重要原則。

第二,因應終院的建議,政府在今年年初成立「性別承認跨部門工作小組」(「工作小組」),由律政司司長出任主席,先理順各項相關的法律問題,參考海外的法例和政策,聆聽法律、醫學等專家意見,再諮詢公眾,讓各方深入認識議題,凝聚社會共識,「工作小組」至今已進行多次會議。

在落實終院裁決方面,雖然議題複雜,但我們已盡快於終院下達命令後半年內做好所需前期工作,於今年一月向立法會保安事務委員會簡介工作方向,全速草擬並提交《條例草案》。

立法會法案委員會已舉行了五次會議,討論《條例草案》及聽取公眾意見。以下幾點澄清,希望有助各方了解《條例草案》的內容和目的。

《條例草案》完全符合現行異性婚姻制度

首先,有市民因為反對同性婚姻而反對《條例草案》。事實上,終院已清晰表明,W案與同性婚姻無關。W小姐的情況屬於「易性症」(Transsexualism)。根據醫學意見,這些人士由於身體上的性別跟自己意識的性別不吻合,產生長年累月的精神困擾,並希望改變身體以擁有另一性別的特徵。「易性症」與同性戀是兩碼子事。

《婚姻條例》第40條訂明,凡根據條例舉行的婚禮,是經舉行正式儀式,獲法律承認,是一男一女自願終身結合,不容他人介入。有關規定不會因為通過《條例草案》而改變。W小姐完成整項變性手術後有權以女性身份與男性結婚,完全符合現行一夫一妻的異性婚姻制度。

整項性別重置手術治療「易性症」人士精神上不安和焦慮

第二點,有意見認為政府在《條例草案》中,加入了變性人士必須接受整項變性手術的「條件」,等同強迫變性人士接受手術,向他們施以「酷刑」。有關說法不盡不實,本末倒置,我們必須嚴正澄清。

正如醫院管理局負責變性手術的專家袁維昌醫生所言,對「易性症」人士而言,以手術治療方式使身體與所選擇的性別盡量吻合,以解決精神上長年累月的不安及焦慮,是有醫療上的必要。在接受手術前,他們需先接受精神科醫生和臨床心理學家一段長時間的評估和治療,包括服用異性荷爾蒙及至少12個月以異性打扮的實際生活行為體驗。外科醫生會先向當事人清楚解釋手術的後果、風險及影響,並在他們深思熟慮後和同意下進行。絕大部份接受了手術的人士,都能在往後的日子消除不安及焦慮。

顯然易見,對「易性症」人士而言,以手術來治療不安及焦慮,實在是一種解脫,怎能說成是酷刑呢?

批評《條例草案》過分狹窄苛刻、未有照顧跨性別人士的需要的人,忽略了一個重點,就是對於未接受整項變性手術的人,是否能以其選擇的性別結婚,屬性別認的議題,終院未有在W案作任何決定。這個議題影響甚廣,《條例草案》沒有任何基礎處理,需交由「工作小組」研究。

提出《條例草案》符合法治精神

最後,有意見指不修改《婚姻條例》,W小姐都可以在終院命令生效之後,按終審法院裁決結婚;為什麼政府要提出《條例草案》呢?

我必須重申,終院已作出終極判決,盡快將法律條文更新,是最符合法治精神的做法,也是良好管治應有之義。這不單顯示我們尊重、落實終審法院的裁決,亦可透過成文法在《婚姻條例》內清晰反映判決。已接受整項手術的人的結婚權利亦會獲得清晰的法律條文保障,這是其他做法(包括不修改法例,或只在法例內指明按照行政指引決定變性人的性別)不能達到的效果。經修訂的《婚姻條例》可使包括擬結婚人士、婚姻監禮人,及所有巿民明白法律的規定,減少誤解或造成不必要的爭議。

《條例草案》的唯一目的,是不折不扣、不加不減如實地將終院不可逆轉的裁決反映在法例中。《條例草案》與同性婚姻無關。政府會繼續努力,向議員和公眾解釋草案內容,爭取立法會盡快於終院命令生效之前通過《條例草案》。

二零一四年五月三十日